Competitions

The Capra team takes part in one competition per year, IGVC (Intellegent Ground Vehicle Competition).  For 4 years, the team also went to the  ION Automow competition.

What is IGVC?

The competition, organized by the Association for Unmanned Vehicle Systems International (AUVSI) will be at its 19th edition in 2012. It consists of three separate challenges: Autonomy in an unknown environment with GPS navigation, vehicle design and JAUS, a communication protocol.

Auto-Nav Challenge

The robot has to follow a path, without human assistance, that is filled with obstacles.  It must also reach predefined GPS waypoints. The course is unknown by the robot. It uses its camera to follow the lines that designate the path and, using its laser measurement system, it detects obstacles such as cones, barriers or fences to navigate around them.

Design Competition

A report of the robot design is produced and the team does an oral presentation in front of a jury about the features, innovations and evolutions of the robot.

JAUS

Offered as a competition for only a few years, the last competition requires teams to incorporate the communication protocol JAUS, designed by the U.S. Army, in the code of the robot. If the code is well implemented, judges are able to remotely control the robot via a wireless network.

Comments are closed.

Compétitions

Le club Capra participe à une compétition par année, IGVC (Intellegent Ground Vehicle Competition).  Pendant 4 ans, l’équipe a aussi participé à la compétition ION Automow.

Qu’est ce que IGVC?

Cette compétition, organisée par l’Association for Unmanned Vehicle Systems International (AUVSI) en sera à sa 19e édition en 2012. Elle se compose de trois volets : l’autonomie dans un parcours inconnu avec de la navigation GPS, le design du véhicule et JAUS, un protocole de communication.

Auto-Nav Challenge

Le robot doit parcourir sans assistance humaine un trajet qui est rempli d’obstacle et atteindre des points GPS prédéfinis. Le parcours n’est pas connu à l’avance par le robot. Il utilise la caméra pour suivre les lignes qui désignent le chemin et, à l’aide de son système de mesure laser, il doit détecter des obstacles tels que des cônes, des barrières ou des clôtures afin de les éviter.

Design Competition

Un rapport de design du robot est produit et l’équipe fait une présentation orale devant jury concernant les caractéristiques, les innovations et les évolutions du robot.

JAUS

Offert comme compétition depuis seulement quelques années, cette dernière compétition demande aux équipes d’incorporer le protocole de communication JAUS, issu de l’armée américaine, dans le code du robot. Si le code est bien implanté, les juges sont en mesure de contrôler à distance notre robot via un réseau sans fil.

Comments are closed.